Close this search box.

Eleanor (Ellie)  Ward

Kia Ora, my name is Ellie, I am 24 and a Brit currently living in New Zealand trying to explore as much as I can! I am an outdoor education instructor. Through my job instructing back in the UK I worked with a variety of schools mostly primary school age, in the school holidays I would run child care activity day camps being responsible for up to 10 young people aged 5-15 throughout the day. When not instructing, I was babysitting for lots of different families  and at one point worked for a family looking after their 3 children after school throughout the week for the winter. Throughout my studies I babysat in my local area. More recently in New Zealand I have worked in childcare through instructing both in the Lewis Pass working with high school student and at a high school in Christchurch working with year 9 and 10 students in their outdoor education programme. Here I have been able to immerse myself in kiwi culture and learn what important values there are in a child’s growth. I am very passionate about enabling experiences in the outdoors for young people as I believe it is important for physical and mental wellbeing. I chose to work in education as I really enjoy working with children, being able to see their personalities grow and helping them to develop to be good people. No two days are ever the same and I embrace the challenges that will come with that. In my spare time I enjoy tramping, rock climbing and generally spending time outside or by the sea. I also enjoy reading and doing cross stitch.